Tight finish expected at Hever Castle Golf Club

Tight finish expected at Hever Castle Golf Club

August 18th, 2010

JUSTIN Evans is leading the race for the £10,000 in the latest event on the PGA EuroPro Tour.

Evans (Wentworth Club) goes into the final day of the Skycaddie European Championships at the Hever Castle Golf Club in Kent on seven-under.

At the start of the day three men – James Heath, Adam Chamberlain and Robert Watkins – all shared the lead on five-under.

Evans was one of three players in tied fourth but his round of three-under on Wednesday was enough to give him an outright lead by one shot.

He claimed birdies at the second, seventh, tenth and 16th but would have been further ahead had he not dropped a shot at the 11th.

Zane Scotland was the youngest ever qualifier for The Open aged only 16 back in 1999.

But he is now back playing on the EuroPro Tour and he triumphed last week at De Vere Wychwood Park in Crewe when he competed in his first event on the Tour since 2007.

He is well placed and in contention again as he currently sits one shot behind Evans on six-under.

Like Evans, Scotland shot a round of three-under on Wednesday but will be hoping that bogeys at the third and sixth do not prove costly.

William Boniface (Five Lakes), Graeme Clark (Doncaster GC), Matthew Evans (Rotherham GC) and Andrew Johnston (North Middlesex) are all in tied third on five-under.
Matt Allen, Will Roebuck (Mentmore) and George Woolgar are all a shot further back but will still fancy their chances of winning the competition.

The final round begins at 7.30am as the top 50 plus ties have advanced to the final round on Thursday.

Official Charities of the PGA EuroPro Tour

Please Donate

Tour Sponsors

Tour Broadcasters

Register for the PGA Euro Pro Tour newsletter Enter your details* to receive updates from the tour. * We will not sell your details to other companies and will only send you updates from the tour when appropriate/relevant. Our updates may contain information, offers and/or adverts from tour and event sponsors.